Re-Constructing Home-Part 26: Mistakes Happen

It was bound to happen at some point: a plethora of decisions, combined with my status as a newbie remodeler, left me vulnerable to making at least one bad decision during this epic renovation.

Right now, we’re in the trim and doors stage of the remodel. While I typically have a more contemporary design aesthetic, I wanted to keep as much of our 1915 Craftsman home as true to the original design as possible, while paying homage to tradition in other areas–tile, cabinet style, and flooring. In the spirit of design continuity and tradition, I gave the direction to run the picture molding that runs throughout the first floor into the new addition as well.

That evening, I walked in to this:

Trim

The picture molding is hugging the top of the trim on the doors and windows – which is decidedly not what I was going for. I failed to remember that, in the new addition, I raised the heights of the doors and windows to 9 feet. That made continuing the picture molding through the addition problematic—since the doors and windows on the first floor, where the picture molding was originally placed, were 8 feet tall not 9 feet.

I immediately felt sick to my stomach. The molding would have to be reworked—which could mean more materials, more labor (more money!) and more time. All of which are precious commodities right now. I quickly corralled my contractor into meeting me at the house the next morning to come up with a solution. When I arrived at the house, the trim crew was already there working. I explained to them my mistake, and told them I’d need them to redo the hallway and back of the house.

The trouble was I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted them to do. I had debated all night about how to handle this. Should we remove the molding altogether? Put up traditional crown molding? Move the current molding to the top of the wall? I mentioned to the crew that I was thinking about moving the small molding to the top of the wall, though I couldn’t find any evidence on the internet that this was something people did. A bit defeated, I walked outside to wait for my contractor.

Ten minutes later, I walked to the back of the house and saw this:

Trim2

Cue the glorious sounds of angels singing!

Not only did I love the way the relocated molding added character to the space without making my walls feel dwarfed and without competing with the beautiful thick window and door trim but—even more spectacularly–it was all done in 10 minutes. Since I didn’t change the type of molding, all they had to do was pull it out and move it 1 foot higher. No new materials and no new measuring / cutting. Mistake magically erased.

Whew!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

